

中華能源基金委員會 China Energy Fund Committee

Organization with Special Consultative Status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council



UN-CEFC Energy Grant "Powering the Future We Want"

Sharing

- We shared knowledge, ideas, skills, love for family, and affection for neighbors
- Our world to prosper, together and sustainably ← sharing technologies, resources, innovations and sharing peace, security, love and friendship
- One Planet & One Common Future



Energy

- Dictating the international order since the last century
- Zero sum game of capturing energy resources → Challenges & sufferings we face today



Energy for All of Us

- We are all citizens of this globe, energy belongs to each and every one of us
- But, 2.8 billion people living in rural areas still lack access to modern energy services
- Access to energy: basic universal right of every man, woman and children

ENERGY BELONGS TO ALL OF US, today, and tomorrow!



- CEFC together with the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UN DESA) establish US\$1 Million Energy Grant
- Thematic Focus 2015:
 Recognizing Leadership and Innovative Practices in Energy
 for Sustainable Development

Nov 14 2014 1st meeting of High-level Steering Committee



High-level Steering Committee:

Selecting candidates for the UN Energy Grant from the names submitted by the Advisory Council, to oversee application, review and selection processes

2015 High-level Steering Committee



H.E. Mr. Peter Thomson

President of the 71st Session the United Nations General Assembly



H.E. Mr. Martin Sajdik

70th President of the United Nations Economic and Social Council



H.E. Mr. Wu Hongbo

United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs



Dr. Patrick Ho Chi Ping Deputy Chairman and Secretary General of China Energy Fund Committee



Mr. Achim Steiner

UNEP Executive Director and Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations



Mr. Warren Sach Former United Nations Assistant Secretary-General for Central Support Services

Dec 520141st meeting of Advisory Council



Advisory Council:

To identify the criteria for the submission, review the applications received and recommend a short list of institutions/individuals for the High-level Steering Committee

2015 Advisory Council



Mr. Zhang Guobao (China)

Former Director of China's National Energy Administration



Ms. Marie-José Nadeau (Canada)

Chair of the World Energy Council



Dr. Christoph Frei (Switzerland)

United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs



Dr. Jeffrey Sachs (USA)

Director of The Earth Institute, Special Advisor to UN SG Ban Ki-moon on the Millennium Development Goals





Dr. José Goldemberg (Brazil) Former Director of China's National

Energy Administration



Mr. Mark Fulton (United Kingdom)

Founding Partner of Energy Transition Advisors



Mr. Thanin Pa-Em (Thailand)

Deputy Secretary-General at the Office of the National Economic and Social Development Board



Dr. Leena Srivastava (India)

Honorary Executive Director at The Energy and Resources Institute



Mr. John Hofmeister (USA)

Founder & Chief Executive of Citizens for Affordable Energy, Former President of Shell Oil Company



Ms. Maria van der Hoeven (France)

Executive Director of the International Energy Agency

^{Sep 14} 2015 1st Grant Award Ceremony at the UN Headquarters, NYC



- Winner of the 2015 Grant: We Care Solar
- (From left to right) Mr. Nikhil Seth, Director of the Division for Sustainable Development of UN DESA, Mr. Zhang Guobao, former director of China's National Energy Administration, H.E. Wu Hongbo, UN Under-Secretary-General (DESA), Dr. Laura Stachel, the co-founder of We Care Solar, H.E. Ban Ki-moon, UN Secretary-General, H.E. Sam Kutesa, President of the 69th Session of the UN General Assembly, Dr. Patrick Ho, Deputy Chairman and Secretary-General of CEFC, and Mr. Zang Jianjun, Executive Vice President of CEFC

We Care Solar



- Provides Solar Suitcases
- Enable clinicians to treat childbirth complications at night
- Avoid needless deaths in >20 countries, in Africa and South Asia
- Empowers 5,000 health workers in the areas of solar energy utilization, installation and servicing → long-lasting impact

^{Sep 14-15} Capacity Development Seminar at the UN Headquarters, NYC



 An opportunity for the 9 grant finalists, 1 winner, and 2 Special Mentions to disseminate their experiences, knowledge and plans in the implementation of projects that promote energy for sustainable development, and challenges related to achieving global energy objectives including the proposed sustainable development goal and targets on energy of the post-2015 Development Agenda

Jun 30 2016 Capacity Development Seminar at Addis Ababa, Ethiopia



- Following 1st cycle of the Powering the Future We Want Energy Grant and a follow-up to the recommendations of valuable participants and finalists
- Conducted by UNDESA, in cooperation with United Nations Conference Centre of the UN Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) and the United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR)



Powering the Future We Want Thematic Focus 2016: Energy for Sustainable Transport

poweringthefuture.un.org

- 229 Applications
- 7 Finalists
- Award of 1 Million USD
- Ceremony at the United Nations Headquarter in New York on Dec 14, 2016

2016 High-level Steering Committee



H.E. Mr. Peter Thomson

President of the 71st Session the United Nations General Assembly



H.E. Mr. Wu Hongbo

United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs



Dr. Ho Chi-ping Patrick

Deputy Chairman and Secretary General of China Energy Fund Committee



H.E. Mr. Frederick Musiiwa Makamure Shava

72nd President of the United Nations Economic and Social Council



Mr. Achim Steiner

Former United Nations Environment Program Executive Director and Under-Secretary-General of United Nations



Mr. Warren Sach Former United Nations Assistant Secretary-General for Central Support Services

2016 Advisory Council



Dr. Nawal Al-Hosany (UAE)

Director of Sustainability at Masdar City



Dr. Milica Bajić-Brković (Serbia)

Former President of ISOCARP, Member of the Executive Committee of International Society of City and Regional Planners (ISOCARP)



Mr. Mark Fulton (UK)

Founding Partner of Energy Transition Advisors Pty Ltd



Mr. John Hofmeister (USA)

Founder & Chief Executive of Citizens for Affordable Energy, Former President of Shell Oil Company



Dr. Ken Koyama (Japan)

Chief Economist and Managing Director at the Institute of Energy Economics in Japan (IEEJ)



Mr. Christopher Martenson (USA)

Economic Researcher, Writer and Trend Forecaster, Cofounder of peakprosperity.com

2016 Advisory Council



Ms. Marie-José Nadeau (Canada) Chair of the World Energy Council



Mr. Thanin Pa-Em (Thailand)

Deputy Secretary-General at the Office of the National Economic and Social Development Board



Mr. Sun Xiansheng (China)

Secretary-General of the International Energy Forum (IEF)



Ms. Maria van der Hoeven (France)

Executive Director of the International Energy Agency



Mr. José Manuel Viegas (Portugal)

Secretary-General of the International Transport Forum (ITF) at the OECD



Mr. Zhang Guobao (China)

Former Director of China's National Energy Administration

Message from CEFC

In sharing, we become better partners in advancing sustainable development goals





中華能源基金委員會 China Energy Fund Committee

Organization with Special Consultative Status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council